i am a regular user of paypal. i use it for all my internet related buying. recently i have recieved this message from paypal (it actually cam from an email: paypal@securesuite.net) it was in some different language
QUOTE
"Les informations concernant votre compte: Cher utilisateur PayPal:
Attention! Votre Compte PayPal A t limit!
Dans le cadre de notre scurit Mesures, nous procdons rgulirement l'activit de l'cran PayPal d'apprendre rcemment Vous ont contact aprs avoir relev un problme sur votre Account.We demand des informations Auprs de vous pour la raison suivante:
Notre systme a dtect charges inhabituelles une carte de crdit lie votre Compte PayPal.
Cliquez Ici pour activer votre compte
Cordialement,
PayPal Email ID: 5138-8872
Dpartement de l'examen des comptes de PayPal.
Le Corp Copyright 1999-2008 PayPal PayPal. Tous droits rservs. "
i was shocked to get this message, i contacted paypal and they said hey havent posted anything like that to me. after doing a little research they cam to know it was send by some hacker who wanted to hack my account
Thanks for the heads up. I haven't received that particular email yet, but I recently received an email from a furniture company in the UK (I'm in the US) that was looking for part time internet sales people to receive customer orders via email and also receive their payments and deposit them to the company's acct. The email was nearly flawless in giving the impression that it was truly from this real furniture company, including links to their real website, but the email domain on the return address was a digit off, and I contacted the real company. They wrote me back thanking me for alerting them to the problem.
These phishing schemes are getting more and more sophisticated, and more people are getting duped.
I used to work at the Florida Dept. of Law Enforcement Computer Crimes Center, and these "scams" are not uncommon. The first thing you can do is see a great deal of misspelled words. That is a redflag, as well as a bank or company asking for your information in an email. (especially if you never gave them an email address) Also you might get a reset password for a bank where you dont even have an account.
I suggest going to register a quick free account @ spamcop.net. Then add them to your address book and when you get a bogus email just forward the whole thing to them, then delete it. They will analyze the email headers and put them on a blacklist that will help us all.
Above all, just be smart and use common sense online.
Because it was in a different language you should of imdeitley recognized something was wrong as you did.
Paypal will never ask for your bank details over email or any sort of payment details like that. they may prompt you to go on there site and do it, even then check the url is write. It could be a dummy site with exact same website but dummy url and made up website. And the details go to people who will use it for there own sake.
I got this exact email as well. As I speak French and lived in France when I set up my PayPal account, I was at first tempted to believe that this email was legit. I clicked on the link, wondering what was going on with my PayPal account, and I began filling in my information. Good thing I had a bad feeling about it. I never submitted the info. That could have been disastrous. It was only then that I noticed the url for the link. It started with Techboss.Com. So...That did not seem right to me. I went to the real PayPal website (in French) to compare, and sure enough, the pages looked almost identical, it just had one missing link at the bottom of the page. It was a pretty decent effort on their part, I have to say. I bet a lot of French-speakers have been scammed with it. And, of course, there are tons of those scam emails in English, too. Better be careful. Anyway, I ended up forwarding the email on to spoof@paypal.Com to let them know about it.
Look at that, scammers, trying to make some "cash". Whenever you get an email sent like this,
it's scam for sure. I didn't even sign up for anything, or gave my e-mail away, and I get a
coupld hundred thousand (in euros). I doubt it. What pure scam...I reported this to Yahoo!. QUOTE
PAYDAY INTERNATIONAL LOTTERIA Ref : GW/06-AT/4273 Batch: GW/06/7676 We are pleased to inform
you of the result of the just concluded annual final draws of Payday International Lotteria
Program.Payday International Lotteria draws was conducted from an exclusive list of 25,00....
The topic title should say alot. For those who are using Paypal, do read this:
http://www.updatexp.com/pay-pal-scam.html Also, I'd like to highlight the following, which is
also the most common mistake that users doesn't check before clicking the link provided in the
email. QUOTE On hovering my mouse over the link that the sender wanted me to click I found that
it was a really odd address - it SHOULD have started with https://www.paypal.com/ This page
shows a scam paypal page. Watch for it's differences. http://www.fightidentitytheft.com/pay....
My dad has been receiving emails and actual mail from picture.com saying that his picture is in one
of their books or movies or some other thing that they say it's in, and we found out that it was
a scam by looking through some other forums where people have ordered the 50 dollar items and it
hasn't even been delivered to them. Have any of you had this same experience and what did you
do about it?....
I have seen posts about what kind of messages are out there fooling members to give up private
information--especially when PayPal sent you one. Oh no! No way, PayPal address cannot be faked.
Wrong. I almost gave away my entire personal information about 3 years ago. And the fake messages
are getting better and better. Even the site that links to looks too real. So I decided to share
this with you, in hopes that no one from TRAP17 are suckered into giving up what is private
information. PS I know everyone knows this but let's spread the word and see how many more we....
Ok I dont have the email anymore but I got an email from so called ebay stating my account has
almost been accesed 25 times in the last 3 days all with invalid password. They gave me a link and
said, go here and refill out your account info and you'll be all set. If you don't do this
in 3 days we'll have no other choice but to delete your accound. Finally they put This Is Not A
Scam. Wanna know the funny thing I dont have an ebay account. Just goes to show that your ebay
account is finally no longer safe. So if you are almost scamed I salout you for not fa....
Well, I could not post a screenshot because I already deleted the email. I don't own a paypal
account but i got an email saying that my account could become permanently inactive if i don't
update the details. I was directed to this site ( http://203.162.1.205/support/support.asp) -
Don't enter anything. It looks really professional and secure but it's just a phishing
attempt, gmail even warned me. It asked me for my credit card number. Emails like these really
piss me off. This is just a warning to those of you. Btw, like microsoft scam emails yo....
QUOTE A new scam by hackers has some people believing they are receiving an e-mail about a
critical update to Windows when in actuality they are installing a Trojan horse, Sophos said on
Friday. The e-mail directs victims to a fake version of the Windows Update site, where there are
links to download the malicious "patches." "The email uses the Microsoft branding and style so to
the casual observer it appears to be legitimate," Gregg Mastoras, Senior Security Analyst at Sophos,
told BetaNews. If users download the "patches," they are actually installing the Troj/DS....