Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register)



3 Pages V   1 2 3 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Is It True Or Hoax Gmail Service Shutting Down?, "donotreply@gmail.com"
brainet
post Feb 27 2006, 01:32 AM
Post #1


Newbie [Level 2]
**

Group: Members
Posts: 39
Joined: 25-February 06
Member No.: 19,121



i Just Got this email From "Donotreply@gmail.com"


QUOTE

Hello,

Your Email address is : XXXX@gmail.com

We are going to shut down our services as of MARCH 1 st but we can be running if you do use a favor and go here

http://searxx.revenuexxx.com/servlet/searc...keyword=finance

And Click on all The Links
Once a 1000 Links have Been Clicked on we will continue our Excellent service
Thanks,
Your Email Provider
Notice from jlhaslip:
quote tags should be used here, please
Notice from BH:
Topic title changed.



is it true or HOAX?

This post has been edited by BuffaloHELP: Feb 27 2006, 08:37 AM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
michaelper22
post Feb 27 2006, 01:36 AM
Post #2


-=Hybrid Bus=-
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 744
Joined: 2-November 05
From: My hybrid bus (in NYC), a computer
Member No.: 13,709
Spam Patrol



HOAX. Do you really think that Gmail would do such a thing? I mean, do you think that Google of all people would ask you to click 1000 links? Not considering the fact that the link doesn't work.

This post has been edited by michaelper22: Feb 27 2006, 01:37 AM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jlhaslip
post Feb 27 2006, 01:56 AM
Post #3


A computer once beat me at chess, but it was no match for me at kick boxing.
Group Icon

Group: [MODERATOR]
Posts: 3,969
Joined: 24-July 05
From: In Trouble Again... still?
Member No.: 9,787
Spam Patrol



It has HOAX written all over it.

To begin with, gmail has your name, so why wouldn't they personalize it? It is a scam to get you to click 1000 links to generate traffic is all.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bladeron
post Feb 27 2006, 02:17 AM
Post #4


Member [Level 1]
****

Group: Members
Posts: 66
Joined: 12-February 06
From: mumbai, india
Member No.: 18,567



lol, i got such mails from google and similar ones from microsoft.com too

and everyone knows that microsoft does mail anyone and so its gotta be a hoax and i think similar is the case with google
so dont get worried by these, they just belong to the spam folder
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Paul
post Feb 27 2006, 02:33 AM
Post #5


Premium Member
********

Group: Members
Posts: 174
Joined: 25-February 06
From: Austin, TX
Member No.: 19,113



QUOTE(bladeron @ Feb 26 2006, 09:17 PM) *

lol, i got such mails from google and similar ones from microsoft.com too

and everyone knows that microsoft does mail anyone and so its gotta be a hoax and i think similar is the case with google
so dont get worried by these, they just belong to the spam folder


blink.gif D-uh! THIS IS A HOAX buddy, just ignore this kinda junk, Gmail usually filters this stuff out biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
wild20
post Feb 27 2006, 04:39 AM
Post #6


Never alone with Christ
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 647
Joined: 22-July 05
Member No.: 9,713



Oh yeah. Hoax is stamped all over it. Stamped with spam left, right, up, and down. laugh.gif Just delete it. It is an easy way to get traffic. A lot of people will click. Maybe there is also a Trojan or Malware too. I would stay away from it and contact Gmail and google right away. they need to delete this email right away. If I owned google, I would weed out these emails. Make it so that email address like noreply and admin couldn't be created.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Saint_Michael
post Feb 27 2006, 05:12 AM
Post #7


$p4m 0n j00 $h4m3 m3 0nc3 $p4m 0n m3 $h4m3 m3 7\/\/1c3
*********************

Group: [HOSTED]
Posts: 6,425
Joined: 21-September 04
From: 9r33|\| 399$ 4|\|D 5P4/\/\
Member No.: 1,218
T17 GFX Crew



but you have to think about the humours side of this someone was able to make that email account and acctually use it.

but yeah only a computer illerate would fal lfor that.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
inyourarms
post Feb 27 2006, 07:01 PM
Post #8


Advanced Member
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 119
Joined: 6-December 05
Member No.: 15,428



That's so stupid.. You got me worried for a second there lol. But I agree with what the others have said, that's kinda stupid.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
electriic ink
post Feb 27 2006, 07:27 PM
Post #9


Incest is a game the whole family can play.
Group Icon

Group: [MODERATOR]
Posts: 1,216
Joined: 11-February 05
From: Heaven
Member No.: 3,709



Hoax. Google would never refer to themselves as Your Email Provider, have such shoddy grammar and spelling and write their letters in an informal style.

Remember, google's a multi-billion dollar industry and if they did want money, they wouldn't do it through gmail emails.