Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register)



 
Closed TopicStart new topic
> True Or False Mail From Computinghost ? [resolved], about billing system
micol
post Nov 29 2007, 01:19 PM
Post #1


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 0
Joined: 29-November 07
Member No.: 53,901



Hello,

I have just received a mail from ComputingHost.
This mail tells the billing system is changing and I have to click to approve.

I know these kinds of mails are often used for phishing, but no code number is asked.

Not the less explanation about the change nor why I had to approve the transfer.

Have you received the same mail ? does it actually comes from ComputingHost ?

I hope you can understand my english, my latest lessons were on the sixties. rolleyes.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Saint_Michael
post Nov 29 2007, 02:32 PM
Post #2


$p4m 0n j00 $h4m3 m3 0nc3 $p4m 0n m3 $h4m3 m3 7\/\/1c3
*********************

Group: [HOSTED]
Posts: 6,560
Joined: 21-September 04
From: 9r33|\| 399$ 4|\|D 5P4/\/\
Member No.: 1,218
T17 GFX Crew



I would get a hold of xistsupport ASAP because I know they don't do that kind of request that I am aware of.

So don't click on anything or fill anything out until it confirmed.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
truefusion
post Nov 29 2007, 03:05 PM
Post #3


Ephesians 6:10-17
Group Icon

Group: [MODERATOR]
Posts: 1,917
Joined: 22-June 05
From: The World of Gentoo
Member No.: 8,528



If it came from ComputingHost, then i too would have probably received the e-mail. However, did you check the sender's e-mail? If it doesn't lead to computinghost.com or xisto.com, then report it in the support ticket that Saint_Michael provided a link to. If it is from the aforementioned sites, then, indeed, wait for Admin feedback.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
micol
post Nov 29 2007, 03:48 PM
Post #4


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 0
Joined: 29-November 07
Member No.: 53,901



Villeurbanne (France), Nov 29, 16:30

Thanks for your answers.
Of course, I did not clic. I shall wait for some hours : maybe somebody will have received the same mail.

QUOTE(truefusion @ Nov 29 2007, 04:05 PM) *
If it came from ComputingHost, then i too would have probably received the e-mail.

Except if you were from the begining with the new billing system

It has been a long time since we set up our new billing system and now we
have decided to transfer all of the clients to the new billing system.


QUOTE
However, did you check the sender's e-mail?

the "from" adress id "ComputinHost Sales" < sales@computinghost.com > but I have been told that sometimes actual links are different from what they seem to be and that headers can easily be changed.

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BuffaloHELP
post Nov 29 2007, 07:43 PM
Post #5


Desperately seeking "any key" to continue...
Group Icon

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,489
Joined: 23-April 05
From: Trap17 storage box
Member No.: 6,042



I received this email after checking this topic. I am on the old billing record.

QUOTE
Dear <<my name>>,

Thank you for your kind support and co operation towards
ComputingHost.com . You have helped us grow with your continued support.
As you have been a regular and good member, we offer you a chance to shift
your account to a new billing system. We at ComputingHost are constantly
making sure that you receive the service that you deserve smile.gif

It has been a long time since we set up our new billing system and now we
have decided to transfer all of the clients to the new billing system.

Your Account Username : <<removed>>

The reason for this is :-

* The development of the old billing system software has stopped.
* There are still many unknown bugs in the system.
* Inability to choose payment gateways when making a payment.
* No proper system for easy upgrades.
* No detailed records of payments made.


Hence to prevent any more inconvenience to you, our customer
ComputingHost has decided to move your accounts to the new billing system.

--- Reply to this email with domain name to approve transfer ---

Please reply to this email when you are ready for the shift and your account
will be shifted to the new billing system. If you have any doubts queries or
suggestions then you can mail us at sales {at} computinghost [dot]com .

Also :-

* 1. None of your site's data will be harmed for this is only a shift of the billing
record and not your site.
* Your billing subscription will be canceled and a new one will be set up when
you pay your next invoice.
* If there is any pending amount.. the invoices will be adjusted so that you
are billed on the right date.
* It will be done only when you have sent us an email.


Regards,

ComputingHost.com


It looks like an authentic email from ComputingHost. Since the only thing is to reply to this email, go ahead when you are ready to do so. According to the email sent by the support team only your billing record(s) are to be moved and not your hosting account.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
OpaQue
post Nov 30 2007, 04:47 AM
Post #6


Administrator
Group Icon

Group: Admin
Posts: 1,479
Joined: 11-June 04
From: Somewhere in Time & Space.
Member No.: 1



It contains your USERNAME, FIRST NAME and LAST NAME to prove its authenticity.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
velma
post Nov 30 2007, 05:09 AM
Post #7


Super Member
Group Icon

Group: [MODERATOR]
Posts: 456
Joined: 14-March 07
From: Trap17 forum :)
Member No.: 40,018
Spam Patrol



Hello micol,

Yes the email is true, It has been sent by ComputingHost to its customers. As mentioned in the email it was sent to transfer clients to a better system that is easier and has better features.

All you need to do is reply to that email and please mention your domain name. Your billing and so forth will all be adjusted, your subscription will be canceled to prevent any further bills smile.gif

I thank you for opening a topic here regarding this issue, I hope your issue has been solved. If you have any doubts then you can always open a ticket at SALES AT COMPUTINGHOST DOT COM.

I am sorry about the confusion, I forgot to announce the news on Trap17.

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
micol
post Nov 30 2007, 10:03 AM
Post #8


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 0
Joined: 29-November 07
Member No.: 53,901



Villeurbanne, Nov 30 11:00

Thanks to all who answered. smile.gif

I sent my answer to the mail just now.


Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
velma
post Dec 17 2007, 05:38 AM
Post #9


Super Member
Group Icon

Group: [MODERATOR]
Posts: 456
Joined: 14-March 07
From: Trap17 forum :)
Member No.: 40,018
Spam Patrol



Topic is resolved.

Please PM any moderator to continue this discussion. Until then, this topic is closed.
Go to the top of the page