Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register)



3 Pages V  < 1 2 3  
Closed TopicStart new topic
> Fraudulent Emails Sent -=your Hosting Is Suspended=- "this Is Spam" And Not From Admins At Trap., Be aware that fake suspension emails are sent.
googlue
post Mar 30 2005, 03:28 AM
Post #21


Privileged Member
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 512
Joined: 26-September 04
From: Googland
Member No.: 1,278



Here is the header of the email I received:

QUOTE
X-Gmail-Received: 480836e5360f8e4762cfbb58acccd5a4f68550b0
Delivered-To: googlue@gmail.com
Received: by 10.54.24.54 with SMTP id 54cs40666wrx;
        Mon, 28 Mar 2005 21:07:16 -0800 (PST)
Received: by 10.54.35.65 with SMTP id i65mr564111wri;
        Mon, 28 Mar 2005 21:07:12 -0800 (PST)
Return-Path: <trap17@dasher.psychz.net>
Received: from dasher.psychz.net (dasher.psychz.net [69.50.187.114])
        by mx.gmail.com with ESMTP id 24si1514361wrl.2005.03.28.21.07.11;
        Mon, 28 Mar 2005 21:07:12 -0800 (PST)
Received-SPF: pass (gmail.com: best guess record for domain of trap17@dasher.psychz.net designates 69.50.187.114 as permitted sender)
Received: from trap17 by dasher.psychz.net with local (Exim 4.44)
id 1DG8ph-0005Vh-2h; Mon, 28 Mar 2005 21:00:06 -0800
To: googlue@gmail.com
Subject:  : HOSTING ACCOUNT SUSPENDED.
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-type: text/html; charset=iso-8859-1
To: googlue@gmail.com
From:  Management <administrator@>
Message-Id: <E1DG8ph-0005Vh-2h@dasher.psychz.net>
Date: Mon, 28 Mar 2005 21:00:05 -0800
X-AntiAbuse: This header was added to track abuse, please include it with any abuse report
X-AntiAbuse: Primary Hostname - dasher.psychz.net
X-AntiAbuse: Original Domain - gmail.com
X-AntiAbuse: Originator/Caller UID/GID - [32257 32258] / [47 12]
X-AntiAbuse: Sender Address Domain - dasher.psychz.net
X-Source:
X-Source-Args:
X-Source-Dir:


I have more than 30 hosting credits and was taken by surprise when I saw the mail! This is not how trap17 works!!

But I did check with Nils and was reassured soon smile.gif

Googlue
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
psychiccyberfrea...
post Jun 12 2005, 06:44 PM
Post #22


Super Member
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 425
Joined: 19-October 04
From: long island, ny
Member No.: 1,831



they coud have used a php script that reads off the cpanel database and e-mails everyone this. That's how it could say "administrator@trap17.com"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Florisjuh
post Jun 13 2005, 11:35 AM
Post #23


Proud to be hosted
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 992
Joined: 11-July 04
From: NL
Member No.: 75



QUOTE(psychiccyberfreak @ Jun 12 2005, 06:44 PM)
they coud have used a php script that reads off the cpanel database and e-mails everyone this. That's how it could say "administrator@trap17.com"
*


Opaque told about this in another toic if I'm right, they shifted servers withoud disabling the cron jobs that checked hosting credits on the old server, so reputation points where getting lower even if you where posting, I think this has been fixed already
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
crapoartworks
post Sep 12 2005, 11:01 PM
Post #24


Newbie [Level 2]
**

Group: Members
Posts: 37
Joined: 28-August 05
Member No.: 11,210



Well, how you can spam people? well, there are services out there on the net that allow you to send joke emails using fake email addresses and people abuse that and spam.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BuffaloHELP
post Sep 13 2005, 12:33 AM
Post #25


Desperately seeking "any key" to continue...
Group Icon

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,497
Joined: 23-April 05
From: Trap17 storage box
Member No.: 6,042



This topic was brought to my attention for being an old one. But I think I might know why emails were originated from psychz.net and to most TRAP17 users.

I was replying to one of our nameserver IP topic and noticed that some (few or less) members might be using IP address to enter as the namesever under their DNS control. And mistakenly ns1.trap17.com and ns2.trap17.com IP's are circulating as 69.50.188.18 and 69.50.188.19. This is incorrect check here to verify. The IP address of 69.50.188.19 belongs to ns2.psychz.net. If you have entered IP address as TRAP17 nameserver please do not use the second IP address. TRAP17's nameservers are:
ns1.trap17.com
ns2.trap17.com

And if you HAVE to use IP addresses, the correct IPs are:
64.5.44.113
209.152.167.59

Some have made a comment that using 69.50.188.18 and 69.50.188.19 works just fine. It's because the first nameserver (69.50.188.18) is resolving to your hosing account. When 69.50.188.18 fails, it will switch over to 69.50.188.19 and that is when psychz.net will be notified and send back the appropriate message.

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TripleH13
post Sep 13 2005, 03:24 AM
Post #26


Privileged Member
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 621
Joined: 26-August 05
Member No.: 11,160



well thanks for the info on this i hope this doesnt start happening again. But by seeing the topic is old and what you just said it seems done with
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
nelimitat
post Sep 13 2005, 03:51 PM
Post #27


Advanced Member
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 120
Joined: 28-August 05
Member No.: 11,224



This is very rude to many people, because many could take this message as a true one and leave your services.

Have you found out the hosting company (competitor) that made this spam?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BuffaloHELP
post Sep 13 2005, 04:16 PM
Post #28


Desperately seeking "any key" to continue...
Group Icon

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,497
Joined: 23-April 05
From: Trap17 storage box
Member No.: 6,042



QUOTE(BuffaloHELP @ Sep 12 2005, 08:33 PM)
When 69.50.188.18 fails, it will switch over to 69.50.188.19 and that is when psychz.net will be notified and send back the appropriate message.
*

...because 69.50.188.19 belongs to ns2.psychz.net. The email is originated from that site and since many of you have "catch all" as your setting in cPanel's email setting, you are receiving a message directed towards, i.e. anyone@yoursite.com. Since you do not host with psychz.net, they are sending you their version of error message. Using the correct nameserver for TRAP17 will correct this matter.

I'm not sure if you read my post but read it again. And I don't believe it's a marketing tactic from one of the competitors but a simply an error on some of our member's DNS setting. Or it could be that the IP used for ns1.trap17.com is a shared nameserver that hosts other nameservers. Nevertheless, it seems like this issue has been resolved.

----- Until another message like this is received, this topic is closed -----
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

3 Pages V  < 1 2 3
Closed TopicStart new topic

Collapse

> Similar Topics

Topics Topics
  1. Forum Hosting Database Altered(0)
  2. Hosting Credits & Post Count!(0)
  3. Change In Hosting Packages For All Members(23)
  4. Change In Invision Gallery Settings(2)
  5. Hosting Approval And Activation Resumed(6)
  6. Qupis : Free Hosting With Php, Mysql, Cpanel. (one Line Text Ad At Bottom)(41)
  7. Default Hosting Package Plan Upgrade!(48)
  8. Xisto Corporation Launches Vps Packages @ Computinghost!(11)
  9. Free Web Hosting With Ruby On Rails : Trap17.com(16)
  10. Introducing Trap Feedbacker(12)
  11. Credit System Processing Cron Upgraded.(5)
  12. Reason Why Accounts Got Mysteriously Suspended(14)