Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register)



2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Gmail $500 Cash Prize?, Real or scam?
vietonline
post Jul 10 2006, 06:12 PM
Post #1


Advanced Member
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 127
Joined: 10-July 06
Member No.: 26,374



hey anyone
Has onyone gotten this email.I just got this ,It tells me that I have won $500 cash prize at random and gmail will transfer it to my paypal account.But when I click on the link in my email,it take me to the page that I can put my paypal account ,my name and get the money,but unfortunately,I'm not a premium gmail game account,so it again tells me to sign up for premium gmail game account which cost money.It also tells me that I have to use E-gold account to buy premium gmail game account which I don't have one.When I try to use paypal account to buy it ,then they force me to pay through E-gold account.

Is this a scam?Can anyone tell me anything about this?

Ps. When I look at their email address.I saw their email address is admin@gmail.com which never exist.Because I try to reply it ,my email doesn't go through.And I check it again I see the gmail address never exist less than 6 letters.So what's going on here?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
fffanatics
post Jul 10 2006, 06:45 PM
Post #2


Privileged Member
*********

Group: [HOSTED]
Posts: 937
Joined: 14-April 05
From: West Chester, PA
Member No.: 5,636



It sounds like a scam to me. Since when does google give $500 away at random. You probably just verified that your email account exists and now will recieve even more spam. It is very easy to use other people's email addresses in the from line of an email.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
pixieloo
post Jul 10 2006, 08:48 PM
Post #3


Premium Member
********

Group: Members
Posts: 166
Joined: 31-May 06
Member No.: 24,594



It sounds like a scam. To be on the safe side, ignore it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Blue-Guy
post Jul 10 2006, 11:03 PM
Post #4


Newbie [Level 1]
*

Group: Members
Posts: 16
Joined: 10-July 06
Member No.: 26,391



Scam At First sight
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ghostrider
post Jul 10 2006, 11:05 PM
Post #5


Super Member
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 397
Joined: 9-June 06
From: Wisconsin
Member No.: 24,924



That is definently a scam.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DogEater008
post Jul 11 2006, 12:38 AM
Post #6


Super Member
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 383
Joined: 8-October 05
Member No.: 12,656



lol.. if it's really google. .then i'm sure they will anounce it to everything.. .And for what reason did they say for the award?..

randoml 500 give away without any signup sounds a scam to me.. lol


ANd what the heck is premium gmail game account. Google doesn't have any game server ... lol. .and gmail is in beta.. why would they start charging people money?.. besides... google is supposed to be a free for all company.. they would never charge people money for using their program..
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
vietonline
post Jul 11 2006, 01:04 AM
Post #7


Advanced Member
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 127
Joined: 10-July 06
Member No.: 26,374



thank you for your comment.

I have searched around,and like you I didn't see any game server from google.For now,i'm sure that it is really scam.I hope anyone doesn't make a mistake like me.

again thank you very much.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
thewildmen2
post Aug 26 2006, 04:22 AM
Post #8


Newbie [Level 1]
*

Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 19-August 06
Member No.: 28,538



i think it's a spam,, you'd better just forget it.. OKAY... biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mtvoyagers
post Sep 4 2006, 03:20 AM
Post #9


Member [Level 1]
****

Group: Members
Posts: 59
Joined: 30-June 06
Member No.: 25,852



QUOTE(vietonline @ Jul 10 2006, 01:12 PM) *
hey anyone
Has onyone gotten this email.I just got this ,It tells me that I have won $500 cash prize at random and gmail will transfer it to my paypal account.But when I click on the link in my email,it take me to the page that I can put my paypal account ,my name and get the money,but unfortunately,I'm not a premium gmail game account,so it again tells me to sign up for premium gmail game account which cost money.It also tells me that I have to use E-gold account to buy premium gmail game account which I don't have one.When I try to use paypal account to buy it ,then they force me to pay through E-gold account.

Is this a scam?Can anyone tell me anything about this?

Ps. When I look at their email address.I saw their email address is admin@gmail.com which never exist.Because I try to reply it ,my email doesn't go through.And I check it again I see the gmail address never exist less than 6 letters.So what's going on here?


its a scam... lots of people are trying to take advantage with gmail since its newer and has had a-lot less spam so when a email that looks like maybe spam or may legit, you get interested, becasue you hadn't ever gotten something like it before through gmail... but yes it is a scam
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Supremo