Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register)



4 Pages V   1 2 3 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> The So Called "bestwebhost.com", A hoax?
Kubi
post Jun 2 2006, 09:37 PM
Post #1


To Cool for Cache
Group Icon

Group: [MODERATOR]
Posts: 1,091
Joined: 16-June 05
From: Some Place.
Member No.: 8,317
T17 GFX Crew



Well first I'd like so say that I've never used this host, and never will;
http://bestwebhost.com/

here's the story;
I was driving down the road, west side of town(the slums), and noticed a building, it was called BestWebHost.Com. My first impression was, "Ya, right". So once I got home I checked it out. Got to there website and it was horrible on the eyes. It was obviously hardcoded, and hardcoded very BADLY. Not profesional at all. I noticed they charged 10 dollars a MONTH for hosting, so I'm thinking to myself "Wow, it better be good". After a few minutes of clicking the hosting package button, then realizing the page just changes at the bottom, not the top, wow, never noticed that. YOU ONLY GET 12MB OF DISK SPACE! Ya, that's right, 12mb's of disk space and 25 email accounts, for 10 bucks a month. Isn't that ridiculous? After further inspection and scrolling down the page, I noticed a 200mb package, about the equivilent of Trap17, but with more email accounts, and well...more everything. 30 Dollars. Ya, that's right, you're getting free here, what you could be paying 30 dollars for somewhere else.

Now, I don't know much about the specs of a webserver, or what they should consist of to be considered "Good", but here's theres;

QUOTE

Dual XEON SCSI Processors
with Hyperthreading
Genuine Intel® Xeon™ ***CPU 2.40GHz
4 CPU's (2 virtual)
2 GB RAM*
2 GB Swap
Cent OS 3.5 i686 (Linux)
Apache Version 1.3.33 (Unix)
**Perl Version 5.8.4
PHP Version 4.3.10
Mysql Version 4.0.24-standard
phpMyAdmin 2.5.6

Exim "email"
Pure-ftpd


*Isn't that how much a gaming computer in an internet cafe has?
**From the start to the end, all outdated. Trap17 offers more up-to-date versions of all those.
***My computer, my 3 year old computer, is a 2.6GHz.

All I can really say is, never use this host. It seems so horrible! You can get 10x more disk space FOR FREE here, or you can pay 10dollars a month, your choice. I know I'll never get hosted by these guys.

If you have been hosted by them before, share your experience please!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
uiop
post Jun 2 2006, 09:58 PM
Post #2


Premium Member
********

Group: Members
Posts: 193
Joined: 20-December 05
Member No.: 15,962



Their server stats aren't that bad, mid-range for a web server.

$10 bucks though for something that I could get for free?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
icemarle
post Jun 2 2006, 11:07 PM
Post #3


The Bogey Princess
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 639
Joined: 25-April 05
Member No.: 6,138



Haha... it now says $9.99 a month... I can see how... uhh, unprofessional the site looks. The specs aren't too great. 10 bucks for something like that? No way... I would rather spend my 10 bucks a year for a lot of domain names than pay it monthly for such hosting. :/
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
FirefoxRocks
post Jun 2 2006, 11:32 PM
Post #4


Super Member
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 273
Joined: 14-April 06
From: Ontario, Canada, North America, Planet Earth
Member No.: 21,845



That site has bad layout, bad graphics and bad products.
I mean at Trap17, I can get those for free, as long as I post in the forum. Why pay ##.## dollars?

Thier servers are not powerful either. And I sure doubt 99.9% Uptime.

Site/product/service: NOT RECOMMENDED!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mayank
post Jun 2 2006, 11:51 PM
Post #5


Mankie
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 761
Joined: 22-July 05
From: New Delhi, India
Member No.: 9,746



haha, it seems to me that they designed the site in Microsoft Frontpage tongue.gif

anyway, as far as design is concerned, it is always important to have a good design because it will never give a good impression to the visitor and same is the case over here...most of us are unsatisfied because we didnt like the design.

Next, important thing is the plan - their plans are so horrible that even the most dumb person on the internet will not go for those plans. They are charging so much! I think someone will need to suggest them a better RE-SELLER biggrin.gif

The only thing which is in their favour is their domain name - you simply dont get those kind of domain names on the internet. I mean, that is the only thing which I liked about this site tongue.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Avalon
post Jun 3 2006, 03:27 AM
Post #6


Privileged Member
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 630
Joined: 12-August 05
From: Melbourne, Australia
Member No.: 10,624



The scary thing is they seem to have been in business for quite a while. Assuming this is true of course.
QUOTE
1998, 1999, 2000 , 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005 Copyright Best Web Host Inc.


And to think people complain about having to post to here get better than what these people offer for FREE!

This post has been edited by Avalon: Jun 3 2006, 03:27 AM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Kubi
post Jun 3 2006, 07:43 PM
Post #7


To Cool for Cache
Group Icon

Group: [MODERATOR]
Posts: 1,091
Joined: 16-June 05
From: Some Place.
Member No.: 8,317
T17 GFX Crew



1
QUOTE(mayank @ Jun 2 2006, 04:51 PM) *

The only thing which is in their favour is their domain name - you simply dont get those kind of domain names on the internet. I mean, that is the only thing which I liked about this site tongue.gif



2
QUOTE(Avalon @ Jun 2 2006, 08:27 PM) *

1998, 1999, 2000 , 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005 Copyright Best Web Host Inc.


1. I find it easier/faster/SAFER to buy my domains from 1and1, and I believe they offer the same thing for 6.99 a month.

2. Couldn't they just say 1998-2005 Copyright ect ect ect.? I mean, we know which years come between 1998 and 2005, we don't need them helping us through that, do we?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
wariorpk
post Jun 4 2006, 07:14 PM
Post #8


Privileged Member
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 661
Joined: 18-April 05
Member No.: 5,852



I think that this webhost is either very old and has not recently been updated or it is ran by someone who is trying a get rich quick idea without wanting to put forth any time or effort. I saw the site and it is very awful. I bet it hasn't been updated in years and its just some guy running a webhosting service using the DSL line in his apartment.

This post has been edited by wariorpk: Jun 4 2006, 07:26 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
AnGeL KiSS
post Jun 4 2006, 07:59 PM
Post #9


Super Member
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 227
Joined: 25-April 06
From: the windy city
Member No.: 22,487



Lol it does look badly coded. The colors and all don't even match: red, blue, biege, pink? If youre going to use those colors why not just use them unwanted colors like yellow, green, teal and other neon colors? Atleast they're pretty. Their site is soo unattrative looking by the first glance I thought the site was full of advertisements. There are some big fonts and some little... talk about unorganized... dry.gif