Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register)



 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> 3d44.com - Google's Long Lost Sister?, google clone at 3d44.com
electriic ink
post May 29 2006, 07:01 PM
Post #1


Incest is a game the whole family can play.
Group Icon

Group: [MODERATOR]
Posts: 1,223
Joined: 11-February 05
From: Heaven
Member No.: 3,709



3d44.com - A Google Twin?

Recently I had just discovered 3d44.com, a seemingly exact clone of the popular search engine google. Many clones of the site, have a reasoning behind them. Take for instance 466453.com:

If you look at the buttons on the keypad below:



The numbers clearly make up the letters G - O - O - G - L - E. But with 3d44.com you can a combination of:
  • C C C -OR
  • D D D -OR
  • E E E
    [/tab] PLUS....
  • C -OR
  • D -OR
  • E
[tab] PLUS....
  • C -OR
  • D -OR
  • E

Which clearly doesn't resemble google. So where does the mysterious masquerader come from? I don't know and there is absolutely no mention of it on google.com.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Plenoptic
post May 29 2006, 09:50 PM
Post #2


Trap Double Mocha Member
***************

Group: [HOSTED]
Posts: 2,224
Joined: 5-November 05
From: That one place over there...
Member No.: 13,830



That is pretty interesting. Who knows what the relation of those two 3d44.com is. They both redirect to google after a few things link pressing. If you click on froogle it will all redirect in the end. I don't see why they would be twins in the first place though.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tetraca
post May 29 2006, 10:14 PM
Post #3


Privileged Member
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 628
Joined: 20-May 06
Member No.: 23,968



They're just joke redirections. When I go to 466453.com it shows my login stats in the top right corner like google.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
apurva
post May 30 2006, 12:39 AM
Post #4


Super Member
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 245
Joined: 11-June 05
From: india-mumbai
Member No.: 8,095



huh? Maybe someone might've tried creating same page like google but failed so re-directed it to google links..

Well just a thought
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
electriic ink
post May 30 2006, 07:04 AM
Post #5


Incest is a game the whole family can play.
Group Icon

Group: [MODERATOR]
Posts: 1,223
Joined: 11-February 05
From: Heaven
Member No.: 3,709



Well apparently, after some researching, there are a bunch of these domains out there. To name a few:Note however that all these websites belong to the same ip address (72.14.207.99) and therefore it's probably just a single server ripping google. Attempts like these are usually to achieve page rank 10.

Another possibility could be that google themselves bought the IP address so it could expand. Now seeing as no-one the domain is active but nobody is paying for the hosting, there's a gap and google had just happened to have grown into the free space.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ibsu
post May 30 2006, 10:39 AM
Post #6


Member [Level 1]
****

Group: Members
Posts: 69
Joined: 7-February 06
Member No.: 18,331



Here's an absolutely ridiculous (but funny) one X-D

http://www.gizoogle.com/
It's Snoop Dogg's version of Google. It ghetto-fies all the text and has some pimp new graphix yo. Itz da shiz bomb fiz ur momma yo. fo' real jiz. motha fka.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
midnightvamp
post May 30 2006, 12:04 PM
Post #7


Privileged Member
*********

Group: [HOSTED]
Posts: 597
Joined: 9-May 05
From: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada, North America, Planet Earth, Our Sun's Orbit, Milky Way Galaxy, The Universe, Beyond
Member No.: 6,839



Strange to see these sites. My question is why? I didn't actually put a search in for them, but even if they did work, why would you want to compete with Google, when it's so obvious that it's not google by just looking at the address bar. I'm sure Google wouldn't be using strange names like that.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Paul
post May 30 2006, 09:35 PM
Post #8


Premium Member
********

Group: Members
Posts: 174
Joined: 25-February 06
From: Austin, TX
Member No.: 19,113



First of all, these site are NOT realated to Google Inc.
A quick whois lookup shows that these sites are registered by random individuals.

Basically, what these sites are trying to do is use Google content on their own site to have a content-filled website.

The are probably using a simple script that will query data from Google and just display it, but, it will replace all the URL's containing www.google.com with www.THeirSite.com.

I just sent an email to the guys at Google and they'll probably have these sites banned from the index or just simply shutdown.

I will post an update when I get a reply.

Paul
Just another 15-year-old-webmaster
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic

Collapse

> Similar Topics

Topics Topics
  1. Wonderful Search Engines(9)
  2. Yahoo Steps up The Online War with Google(9)
  3. Search Yahoo And Google At The Same Time!(16)
  4. Anyone Else Watching Google's Annual Logo Comic?(5)
  5. Google Soon To Step Into Online Word Processing(10)
  6. Google Vs Yahoo! Who Rules(10)
  7. How Does Google News Work ?(2)
  8. Google + Yahoo ! Have You Seen This?(14)
  9. Google Vs Live(4)
  10. How Do I Get Indexed On Google And Msn(3)
  11. Possible Google Killer?(13)
  12. Google Has Sloppy Coders(6)
  13. Google Vs Yahoo(15)
  14. Cuil(5)